About the
History Design Studio

Our Misson

The History Design Studio is a workshop for the most exciting new ideas in multimedia history. Joining a commitment to the professional practice of history with an experimental approach to form and presentation, the HDS is a creative space where students and scholars can design new modes of historical storytelling. We express historians’ core values through the innovative methods of artisanship and craft. Extensive use of primary sources, keen historiographical awareness, attention to change over time, and an overarching respect for evidence guide our projects in databasing, storyboarding, audiovisual narration, performance, cartography, and software development. By stretching the canvas of historical scholarship, studio participants make lasting contributions to the understanding of the past and its many meanings.

Our People

Professor Vincent Brown


Vincent Brown, Charles Warren Professor of History and Professor of African and African-American Studies, is the director of the History Design Studio at Harvard University.  His research and creative endeavors focus on the political dimensions of cultural practice in the African Diaspora, with a particular emphasis on the early modern Atlantic world.  A native of Southern California, he was educated at the University of California, San Diego, and received his PhD in History from Duke University, where he also trained in the theory and craft of multimedia.

Benjamin D. Weber

Lead Researcher

Benjamin D. Weber is a PhD Candidate in History at Harvard. He is the creator and administrator of the Digital History Group for HASTAC and was recently featured in an app teaching primary sources from the Civil Rights Movement. He has served as a researcher for Evelyn Brooks Higginbotham’s current book project (in progress), the Marcus Garvey and UNIA Papers Project edited by Robert A. Hill, and Picturesque Multimedia Productions. He has also received numerous awards, including The National Council for the Social Studies’ (NCSS) Outstanding Teacher of the Year (2011) and a Mellon research fellowship for 2014-2015.

Our Supporters